The Pinners Interest

The Goal: To Test Out Pins From Pinterest.com

Re-Purposed Wrist Watch

I am a big advocate to reduce, reuse, recycle! I hate to throw away items that no longer function or are worn out (it’s alright to keep “junk” as long as you don’t become a hoarder). A few years ago I started to explore the world of re-purposing. I’m always on the lookout for items in thrift stores that I can re-purpose into something fabulous. Recently On Pinterest I found a project where you can re-purpose a vintage wrist watch into a lock it. Lets just say I am in love with this idea!

The Bloggers Watches

The Bloggers Watches

The picture links to: http://www.maizehutton.com/vintagepictureframebracelet.html

The blogger did not include a supplies lists so I will list what I used:

  • An old watch (not digital)
  • A photograph
  • Scissors
  • Flathead Screwdriver
  • Scotch Tape
  • Super Glue

Unfortunately there was no step by step instructions for this project so I will list the steps that I took.

Step 1: Obviously you need a watch first! I found mine at a thrift store or as the blogger mentions you can buy one on ebay. Sadly mine was not vintage but it has the look of vintage. My watch also still worked when I bought it since most people do not drop off broken watches to the thrift store. The project will still work even if the watch still does.

Step 2: Take the back face of the watch off using the flat head screwdriver (the little screwdrivers that come in a eye glass repair kit work great). Remove the inner mechanism but make sure you keep the watch face you will use it in the next step.

Step 3: Using the watch face trace a black and white photo to size and cut it out. I chose an picture of my grandmother when she was younger because I thought it stuck to the vintage theme/feel. I scanned the picture onto my computer and printed out on plain printer paper. If you scan the picture to your computer it allows you to play around with the size of the picture/crop it if needed.

Step 4: Place the picture in the watch and using scotch tape, tape the picture into place. I’m not sure if you have to tape the picture in with every watch but I had to or else the picture moved around.

Step 5: Put the back face of the watch back on. I realized once I had put the back on that the part of the watch called the “crown” (I call it the watch winder) kept falling out. I used a bit of super glue to glue it into place and it fixed the problem.

DONE!!!!!!!

My Watch

My Watch

My Watch

My Watch

I was so impressed on how this turned out that I’ve started to make more (but as the blogger mentions wear no more than 3). I also think it’s fantastic that you can switch the pictures in and out really easily. Of course you don’t have to use a vintage watch. You could use any watch (as long as it is not digital) eg. kids watches, they would love it. I do not like to wear necklaces, nor do I think I look good in them, so this was a perfect alternative to be able to wear a locket. I definitely recommend this project not just because of how terrific it looks but because of the chance to re-purpose something old and make it new again.

Until next time Happy Pinning!!

One comment on “Re-Purposed Wrist Watch

  1. The Housewife Life♥
    April 19, 2013

    Love your blog! Take a look around mine, maybe something will spark your interest and you’ll follow me! Hope to hear from you soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2013 by in Blog, Craft, DIY, Jewelry, Photography, Pinterest and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 620 Hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

