The Pinners Interest

The Goal: To Test Out Pins From Pinterest.com

Spring Themed Wreath

Spring has finally sprung yayy! As you can probably tell…I like wreaths! I think they are a great entrance piece, especially for welcoming guests. Originally I wanted to make an Easter wreath but realized It couldn’t stay up as long as a seasonal wreath. So I went on a Pinterest search for my perfect spring wreath and quickly one stood out above the rest.

The Original Pinterest Wreath

The Original Pinterest Wreath

 

The original Pin links to Google images so sadly there was no instructions on how to put the wreath together so I made the instructions up myself.

Supplies that I used:

  • Vine Wreath
  • Fake Flowers
  • Small Pre-Made Birds Nest (If you are not able to find a birds nest you can make you with moss and a smaller vine wreath like I did)
  • Wire
  • Feathers
  • 2 or 3 Small Styrofoam Eggs
  • Craft Paint
  • Twine or Ribbon
  • White Glue (Only need this if you are making the birds nest)
  • And in my case Duct Tape…

 

Step 1: (If you did not have to make your birds nest move onto step 2) To make my birds nest I used white glue to glue moss around a vine wreath. I let this dry for a couple hours. I then started taking small handfuls of moss and gluing it into a small flat circle (if  you do not glue all the moss together bits and pieces of the moss comes off and it gets messy). I let that dry over night. I then glued the moss circle into the inside of my small vine/moss wreath and then you have a birds nest. This step is a bit time consuming but I couldn’t think of another way to build a birds nest with the limited resources where I live.

Step 2: Take your birds nest and attach it to the large vine wreath with some wire (I positioned mine at the bottom of the wreath off centered)

Step 3: Take your Styrofoam eggs and paint them with the craft paint. I made mine robin egg blue because I thought they stayed true to the spring theme and gave the wreath a pop of color. I let my eggs dry over night and gave them 2 coats of paint but I’m sure you could use a hairdryer to dry them faster.

Step  4: Take your fake flowers (preferably ones made with bendy wire) and weave them in and out of the wreath. I found no need to wire them down because the tight vines of the wreath hold them securely in.

Step 5: Time to attach your eggs to the nest. This is where I made a major mistake. I used super glue to glue my eggs into place but did not realize that super glue eats away at Styrofoam ..bad idea! I was able to save my damaged eggs thankfully but had a hard time coming up with an alternative to attach them securely  I tried white glue but it was not strong enough so I ended up using trusty duct tape and it works pretty well. I’m sure most of you can come up with a better idea than that.

Step 5: Attach twine or a ribbon to the top of the wreath to hang it up.

DONE!!!!

My Spring Wreath

My Spring Wreath

 

Another View Of My Spring Wreath

Another View Of My Spring Wreath

 

I think this wreath looks lovely on my front door and my neighbors have been complimenting me on it. It was relativity easy to make minus the birds nest. If I was to make it again I would order a birds nest online before hand or find a better way to make one. The entire project cost me around $16 to make ($6 for the large vine wreath, $4 for the fake flowers, $2 for the small vine wreath, $2 for the moss [even though I could have gone out and found some in my back yard. I think that’s what they call being lazy oops], $2 for Styrofoam eggs). I hope my instructions have been helpful and that some of you try and make it, it’s worth it.

Until next time Happy Pinning!

 

 

One comment on “Spring Themed Wreath

  1. muffybot
    April 29, 2013

    Reblogged this on Natures Beauty and commented:
    I AM OBSESSED with wreaths that have eggs on them!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Blog, Craft, DIY, Pinterest and tagged , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 629 Hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

